Commonwealth Games FederationCommonwealth Games Federation


Australia officially became a member of the Commonwealth of Nations in 1931 under the Statute of Westminster having become independent of the United Kingdom in 1901.

Australia is one of only six countries to have competed in all of the Commonwealth Games held since 1930, although they did attend the 1911 Empire Games as part of an Australasian team. This impressive international record extends to its participation in every Olympic Games in the modern era as well as each edition of the Commonwealth Youth Games which started in 2000.

At the first Games in 1930 Australia won only 8 medals against England's 61. At the 2010 Games in Delhi, India they won a total of 178 medals, 74 of which were gold.

Australia has hosted the Commonwealth Games four times with the city of Melbourne in 2006 completing the quartet. The Gold Coast is currently bidding to host the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

The Australian Commonwealth Games Association (ACGA) organises their participation in the Commonwealth Games and Commonwealth Youth Games and is a separate entity to the Australian Olympic Committee.

Australia Commonwealth Games Association© Getty Images

Capital - Canberra
Population - 21,293,000
Time Zone - GMT +10:00
Language - English
Currency - Australian Dollar


Australia Commonwealth Games Association



173 Drummond Street
Victoria 3053
Tel: + (61) 3 9654 4755
Fax: + (61) 3 9654 7311

President Sam Coffa AM, JP
CEO Craig Phillips

Twitter: @AusComGames