Commonwealth Games FederationCommonwealth Games Federation


The Federation of Malaya (1948-1963) was the successor of the Malayan Union which gained independence within the Commonwealth in 1957 and sent a team to the British Empire Games in 1950 and British Empire and Commonwealth Games in 1958 and 1962.

In 1963 Malaya, Sarawak, Sabah and Singapore combined to form Malaysia. In 1965 Singapore became an independent republic, whilst the rest remained part of Malaysia. Athletes from Malaya have been eligible to compete for Malaysia since 1966.

See Malaysia

Olympic Council of Malaysia© Getty Images

Capital -
Population -
Time Zone -
Language -
Currency -


Olympic Council of Malaysia



Mezzanine Floor, Wisma OCM