Commonwealth Games FederationCommonwealth Games Federation

Northern Ireland

Northern Ireland is bordered by the Republic of Ireland on the island of Ireland. It is made up of 6 counties; County Antrim, County Armagh, County Londonderry, County Down, County Fermanagh and County Tyrone.

Northern Ireland have taken part in every edition of the Games, bar 1950, and have the distinction of achieving medal succes at each and every one. Lawn bowls (Watson & Rosbotham) and athletics (Thelma Hopkins) providing the first gold medals for the Province in 1954 and lawn bowls and shooting providing silver medals in Melbourne in 2006 and boxing providing 3 gold medals in Delhi 2010 in the -49kg, 69kg and 75kg weight categories.

As one of the Home Countries in the UK, Northern Ireland is not able to be a member of the Olympic Movement so the Commonwealth Games provides the only opportunity for its athletes to compete at the international level in a multi-sport event.

Their participation in the Commonwealth Games and Commonwealth Youth Games is organised by Commonwealth Games Northern Ireland.

Commonwealth Games Northern Ireland© Getty Images

Capital - Belfast
Population - 1,799,000
Time Zone - GMT +00:00
Language - English, Irish Gaelic
Currency - Pound Sterling

Northern Ireland

Commonwealth Games Northern Ireland



11 Great Northern Street
Co. Antrim
Northern Ireland
Tel: +(44)28 9038 3815

Chairman Robert McVeigh
Secretary Terry Crothers
Executive Officer Conal Heatley

Twitter: @GoTeamNI
Facebook: /GoTeamNI