Commonwealth Games FederationCommonwealth Games Federation


Sabah or North Borneo as it was called became a British colony in 1946 after the end of the Second World War. Sabah sent a team to the British Empire & Commonwealth Games in 1958 and 1962.

Then in 1963, Sabah was declared independent from British sovereignty and together with Malaya, Sarawak and Singapore formed the Federation of Malaysia. In 1965 Singapore became an independent republic, whilst the rest remained part of Malaysia. Athletes from Sabah have been eligible to compete for Malaysia in the Commonwealth Games since 1966.

See Malaysia

Olympic Council of Malaysia© Getty Images

Capital - Kota Kinabula
Population - 3,380,000
Time Zone - GMT + 08:00
Language - Bhasa Malaysia, English
Currency - Ringgit Malaysian (RM)


Olympic Council of Malaysia



Mezzanine Floor, Wisma OCM