Commonwealth Games FederationCommonwealth Games Federation


The Republic of Zambia, formerly known as Northern Rhodesia, joined the Commonwealth in 1964. It is a landlocked, fertile and mineral rich country on the Southern African plateau. It is bordered by eight countries, five of which are Commonwealth nations.

Making its debut in 1954, Zambia has competed at every Games since 1972 bar the 1986 Games in Edinburgh. Their first gold medal came in 1974 when Lotti Mwale won the mens light middleweight division in the boxing competition. In Delhi in 2010 they took part in six different sports.

The Zambia National Olympic Committee was formed in 1964 and is responsible for its participation in the Commonwealth Games and the Commonwealth Youth Games.

National Olympic Committee of Zambia© Getty Images

Capital - Lusaka
Population - 12,935,000
Time Zone - GMT +02:00
Language - English, indigenous languages
Currency - Zambian Kwacha (K)


National Olympic Committee of Zambia



PO Box 20728
Tel: + (260.2) 227 438
Fax: + (260.1) 225 422

President Miriam Moyo
Secretary General Hazel Kennedy