Commonwealth Games FederationCommonwealth Games Federation

Media Library - News Archive

Twelve netball teams named for Delhi
Wednesday, 14 April 2010

The International Federation of Netball Associations and the Commonwealth Games Federation have confirmed that the following nations have accepted the invitation to participate in the netball competition in the Delhi Commonwealth Games in October this year.

  1. Australia
  2. New Zealand
  3. England
  4. Jamaica
  5. Malawi
  6. South Africa
  7. Cook Islands
  8. Samoa
  9. Trinidad and Tobago
  10. Barbados.
  11. Papua New Guinea.
  12. India

The women-only netball competition will see the world’s best teams battling for gold in one of the core sports of Commonwealth Games competition.

The nations are listed in accordance of their IFNA World Ranking as per 31st October 2009. India qualifies as the host nation.

The competition will take place at the brand new purpose built Thyagaraj Stadium. The stadium had its inauguration last week and is a world-class facility. It is solar powered and is India’s first “green” venue. No expense has been spared in setting the scene for what promises to be a fantastic closely fought competition.

In Melbourne in 2006 it was New Zealand who went away with gold, Australia taking silver and England bronze. The battle for medals is sure to be just as hard fought in 2010.

The competition will be conducted according to the rules of the International Federation of Netball Associations and consists of two pools of six teams playing each other in a round-robin tournament, with the two leading teams in each pool advancing to the finals.

For full competition schedule, CLICK HERE


« Back to News Archive   |   Latest News »

© Getty Images