Commonwealth Games FederationCommonwealth Games Federation

Media Library - News Archive

Fennell to retire
Saturday, 13 August 2011

The end of an era has been marked with the closing of nominations for the Commonweatlh Games Federation Executive board, with current President, the Hon Michael Fennell OJ, CD, not seeking re-election at the CGF General Assembly in St Kitts in November.

HRH Prince Tunku Imran is the sole nominee for the top job, having served 11 years on the Board as Vice President.

Fennell, 76, who has overseen successful Games in Kuala Lumpur (1998), Manchester (2002), Melbourne (2006) and Delhi (2010), is retiring after 17 years as President.

Imran, aged 63, is a former Malaysian squash champion and is the President of the Olympic Council of Malaysia, Vice President of the CGF and Chairman of the CGF’s Sports Committee.  He has been an IOC member since 2006, having lead the Malaysian team to the 1988 Seoul Olympic Games as its chef de mission.

He has held a number of positions in world sport, including being President of the World Squash Federation from 1989 to 1996 and he was an Executive Board Member of the International Cricket Council from 1997 to 1999 and again from 2001 to 2008.

Professionally, Imran is a qualified barrister, company chairman and director.

Elections for the CGF Executive will take place in St Kitts on November 11th, the same time that the CGF’s 71 member nations will decide whether the Gold Coast or Hambantota will host the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

Nominations for positions on the Board are:

HRH Tunku Imran (Malaysia)

Vice President (2 required)
Ian Emmerson OBE (England)
Dr. Kipchoge Keino (Kenya)
Bruce Robertson (Canada)
Gideon Sam (South Africa)

Honorary Secretary
Louise Martin (Scotland)

Honorary Treasurer
Austin L. Sealy (Barbados)

Honorary Legal Adviser
Sharad Rao (Kenya)

Honorary Medical Adviser
Tan Sri Dr. M. Jegathesan (Malaysia)

Athletes’ Representative
Suzanne Weckend-Dill (Canada)
Nicholas Spence Lane (New Zealand)

Regional Vice Presidents

Abdoulie M. Touray (The Gambia)

Kalam Azad Juman-Yassin (Guyana)

Hemasiri Fernando (Sri Lanka)

Donald Anderson (Jamaica)
Fortuna Belrose (Saint Lucia)
Chet Greene (Antigua & Barbuda)

Joseph Cassar (Malta)
Christopher Jenkins (Wales)

Siosifa Takitoa Taumoepeau (Tonga)
Tapasu Leung Wai (Samoa)


« Back to News Archive   |   Latest News »

© Getty Images