Commonwealth Games FederationCommonwealth Games Federation

Sports Programme

6 sports made up the Programme of the first Commonwealth Games in Hamilton 1930; Athletics, Aquatics (Swimming & Diving), Boxing, Lawn Bowls, Rowing, and Wrestling.

Now each candidate city looking to host a Commonwealth Games must include a minimum of 10 core sports on their Programme: Aquatics (Swimming), Athletics, Badminton, Boxing (Men) with an option to add Women's events, Hockey (Men & Women), Lawn Bowls, Netball (Women), Rugby Sevens (Men) with an option to add Women's Sevens, Squash and Weightlifting.

They can then include up to an additional 7 from a list of optional sports/disciplines: Archery, Basketball (Men & Women), Beach Volleyball (Men & Women), Canoeing, Cycling (Road and/or Mountain Bike and/or Track), Diving (as part of Aquatics), Gymnastics (Artistic and/or Rhythmic), Judo, Open Water Swimming (as part of Aquatics), Rowing, Sailing, Shooting (Clay Target and/or Fullbore and/or Pistol & Small Bore), Softball (Men & Women), Synchronised Swimming (as part of Aquatics), Table Tennis, Tennis, Tenpin Bowling, Taekwondo, Triathlon and Wrestling.

The CGF and International Paralympic Committee have also established a list of 4 core Para-Sports for elite athletes with a disability, which host cities must include. They can then include events from up to an additional 3 listed optional Para-Sports but not exceeding 20 events, which must be fully integrated into the overall Sports Programme.

Regulation 6 of the CGF Constitutional Documents outlines the factors and criteria considered by the CGF’s Sports Committee and Executive Board for new sports in the Programme of the Commonwealth Games.

The Commonwealth Youth Games Programme must consist of a minimum of 6 and a maximum of 8 sports, with no more than 2 team sports, selected by the host city. Athletics and Swimming (long or short course) are compulsory and the other sports must be chosen from those classed as either core or optional by the CGF.

The next 2 editions of the Commonwealth Youth Games in Samoa in 2015 and St Lucia in 2017.

© Getty Images