Commonwealth Games FederationCommonwealth Games Federation

Spotlight On Sport - Rugby Sevens

Guide to Rugby 7s  |  Rugby 7s at Glasgow 2014  |  Spectators Guide  |  Rugby 7s Quiz

Guide to Rugby 7s

Dragging his Opponent Hosea Gear of New Zealand Runs - Rugby 7's Quarter Final – 2010A fast and furious high-scoring clash with hard hits and heroic dashes, rugby sevens takes two teams of seven men and gives them just 14 minutes to win or lose.

Players love the sevens format. Because the size of the field is the same, but the team is half the size, rugby sevens players have twice as much room to manoeuvre as they have during regular rugby, in matches that last for just one-fifth as long.

As a result, sevens is a great opportunity for smaller, more agile, players to show their skills against the bigger men they normally encounter in the standard 15-player format. There’s less heavy contact, wilder tactics, lots and lots of running and an emphasis on maintaining possession (and as a result, there isn’t much kicking).

The increased emphasis on speed, athleticism, timing and an abundance of agility means crowds are drawn to the excitement and non-stop action too!

Fast Facts…

  • At Glasgow 2014, around 192 athletes from 16 of the world’s best sides will contest 45 matches over two days of fierce competition.
  • The competition takes place on day 3 and 4 of the Games, 26th and 27th July.
  • The venue is Ibrox Stadium, home of Glasgow Rangers F.C.
  • New Zealand have won every Commonwealth Games rugby 7s gold medal since the sport was introduced in 1998, four in total.
  • Fiji are the second most successful team in Commonwealth Games history, having won two silver medals in 1998 and 2002 and a bronze in 2006.
  • Amasio Valence of New Zealand is the Commonwealth Games most successful rugby 7s player with three gold medals won in 1998, 2002 and 2006.

How the competition works…
Tonga's Vungakoto Lilo in Action - Men's Rugby 7s Bowl Final - 2006The 16 teams will be placed into four pools. Play on the first day of competition will consist of matches between teams in the same pool on a round-robin basis. Teams will play three pool matches on day one. No extra time will be played in pool matches and points will be awarded on the following basis: win = three points, draw = two points, loss = one point, no show = 0 points.

When the pool matches are completed, the winners of each pool and the second-placed team progress to the medal competition. The third and fourth placed teams in each pool will progress to the Bowl Competition. The losers of the Medal Quarter-Finals will proceed to the Plate Competition. The losers of the quarterfinals in the Bowl Competition take part in the Shield Competition. The two losers of the medal semi-finals will compete for the bronze medal.

Did you know?
Rugby 7s was invented by a Scottish butcher, Ned Haig, who ran the Melrose rugby club in the 1880s. He came up with the format because he wanted a new tournament to attract fans and pay off the club’s debts. It must have worked, because 1,600 tickets were sold to the first match!

CGF Spotlight on Sport